Email about my Dad’s Trust

Annie Altman
3 min readMar 13, 2024

--

Hello mother’s-lawyer,

Contrary to your email here, my-short-term-lawyer shared with me that my Father’s Trust has been funded before my mother’s death.

As I turned 30 this January, I am considering requesting the funds for which my Father’s Trust was established per my Father’s wishes, according to my understanding of my Father’s Will.

Before I do so, I would like to know the following information:

  1. How much was the Trust funded for, and when exactly?
  2. Please send details of all assets and all information about the Trust. My-short-term-lawyer mentioned Hydrazine, a fund of my siblings’, and one of my Dad’s buildings with my-Dad’s-old-boss?
  3. Please send all documentation you have concerning the Trust, including but not limited to: documents and numbers related to the institution holding the Trust, the trustees, and communication regarding how the trust was funded.
  4. Have there been any divisions of the Trust? Please send any information if yes.
  5. Please send all documents related in any way to the Trust that I may not be aware of at this point.
  6. Why was the funding of the Trust delayed? Why was the Trust funded now after you previously said it couldn’t be funded?
  7. My-short-term-lawyer (cc’d), who you spoke with about getting the Trust funded, let me know you said my next step was to “make an ask of the Trust with a monthly budget.” Will you please point to where in the Trust it specifies that stipulation?
  8. The Trust mentions different stipulations for different ages, and my 30th birthday was in January. Why was I not contacted about the potential to request a non-prejudicial lump sum in accordance with my Father’s wishes?

As you know, I am in no contact with my mother and siblings due to much abuse. I was concerned to hear from My-short-term-lawyer that the option for getting the money my Dad left for me was to have monthly contact with you or my mother. Part of my no contact was a lack of follow through on a monthly arrangement made with a family therapist, for a six month plan for support, in the beginning of 2020 when I was first very ill. I’d prefer the lump sum option, and can clearly demonstrate I’m the one of the four siblings most in need as my Father’s Will specifies. Please include any additional information on that option in your response to this email.

As you may also know, I quit my job in 2019 a year after my Father’s death, understanding that I was the primary beneficiary of my Father’s 401K. I planned to take my time away from work to focus on my health, which had declined severely in my mid-20s. My relatives are aware of my repeated tendinopathy, three times in a walking boot for the same ankle, and Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. I did not receive any such funding, and as a result, my health and well-being have continued to suffer — in direct contradiction to the stipulations in my Father’s Will. The Trust makes it clear that my Dad’s wish was for me to have been supported in these six years since his death. In the absence of the support intended for me in my Dad’s Trust, I’ve experienced two and a half years of houseless and homelessness and daily PTSD flashbacks, and I’ve had to resort to survival sex work to support myself financially while still navigating physical illnesses.

Please send your confirmation of receipt of this email within 24 hours, and all requested documentation and answers, within 10 business days.

Thank you,

Annie

--

--

Annie Altman

Showing and telling thoughts and feelings on humaning. All Humans Are Human Podcast, The HumAnnie, Funds Distribution Company